1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Where should I begin to eventually understand calculus of variations?

1. Apr 8, 2013 #1
    I am a engineering undergraduate. And my classical mechanics module was all based on newtonian mechanics, but I got very curious about the hamiltonian and lagrangian formulations and decided to read up on those.

When I got to the principle of least action I couldn't understand much, mostly because I had never previously heard about calculus of variations. Assuming my mathematical background only includes high school stuff, "regular" calculus, vector calculus and linear algebra. Where should I begin to understand all about functionals and eventually get to minimize them using calculus of variations?

I tried looking into functional analysis, but it assumes topology is already known. Then I said "okay! let's learn topology", but it is assumes group theory is already known.. I looked a bit into group theory and it looks like the only prerequisite is linear algebra, mostly to generate examples. And I already know linear algebra!

So is that it? Can I begin my journey at group theory and gradually move up to functional analysis? Or is there something else I should already know..

Just an additional question: which field of mathematics looks into metric spaces? Because the book I bought on functional analysis talks about complete metric spaces in terms of metric spaces, and I don't know what those are..

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 8, 2013 #2

AlephZero

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You may have picked the wrong sort of book to get started. What you are describing is a rigorous approach to the subject and with the level of generality that is today's "state of the art" in math and theoretical physics.