1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Where to find what research has been done on a specific topic?

1. Apr 10, 2013 #1
    I am curious as to how you find all the various research that has been done on a particular topic? Though I am fairly new to the study of physics, I have been told that prior to becoming involved in a particular research project, you want to look into who else has researched that particular topic, how they did it, what conditions, etc. I have also been told that it is very important to look into ALL of the research so that you are not just duplicating someone else's findings. However, I am at a loss as to how you ensure you have looked at all the research? Is there somewhere in particular that is useful for gathering this information? How do you ensure that there wasn't some research that you missed?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 10, 2013 #2
    When trying to read up on a new field, I've found that the best way is to try to find a recent review article about it. In physics, try to search through a journal like Reviews of Modern Physics for something on your topic. Such a reivew paper would typically contain references to many things in that field, which you can then follow and read more about and again look at that papers references etc. After a while you start to get familiar with the terms and the important groups and from there on you typically know how to proceed further.

4. Apr 10, 2013 #3

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

1. You do a lot of literature search. Read physics journals that publish papers in your field.

2. Your Advisor should have a lot of info on the state of knowledge of the field you are getting into. Ask him/her.