1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Which areas of maths are from which fundamental areas

1. Dec 5, 2014 #1
    Hello,

I am a physics student and have catagorised most of physics, e.g classical mechanics, relativistic mechanics, quantum mechanics and quantum field theory, and have also identified all the mathematics involved in each of these catagories.
    For example classical mechanics involves Calculus, Differential Equations, Vector Analysis, Calculus of variations and Linear algebra (matrcies and tensors). So on a so forth for each catagory. (large/small, fast/slow).

Now I am looking for a flow or web diagram of how mathematics developed. To elaborate, I need a diagram that starts with the fundamentals of mathematics such as set theory, catagory theory, and shows that these lead onto algebra and topology, and that these with real analysis and geometry lead to differential geometry etc.

I am not confident with this order and thus don't know where to start to have a full appreciation/understanding, for example, using matrices to solve simultaneous equations does mean I understand linear algebra.

Thanks

P.S Here is a TED talk on the beauty and truth of physical theory (provided you know the fundamentals)
    https://www.ted.com/talks/murray_gell_mann_on_beauty_and_truth_in_physics

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 5, 2014 #2

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper