Which laptop operating system do astronomers most often use?

In summary, the conversation discusses the preference for non-Windows operating systems among astronomers and the suggestion to purchase a computer with a Unix-based operating system in order to prepare for a career in observational astronomy. The reasons for this preference are the software used in the field and the prevalence of Mac and Linux at conferences and in offices. Advice is given to either purchase a Mac or a PC that can run Linux and to become familiar with the command line interface.
Omega Force
Hello.

Currently I'm in my third year of university.

I would like to work in the field of observational astronomy (not so much theoretical astronomy).

In about two weeks I'm going to buy a new laptop portable computer in the 2000€ range.

Firstly I was thinking to buy a Microsoft Windows PC, since every single one of my computers except one were Windows PCs (the one which wasn't was an Apple Mac OS X).

But then I came across a thread on a Forum (I don't remember the name of the Forum) where someone said that astronomers usually don't use Windows PCs and that they generally use other operating systems.

So I have some questions:

- Is it true that astronomers don't usually use Windows like everyone else? If yes, why?

- Which operating system(s) do astronomers most often use on their computers?

- Do you think it would be a wise decision for me to buy a computer with an operating system different than Windows? (so that I may get accustomed to the operating system which I will need to use when I'll be an astronomer) If yes, which operating system would you suggest me?

Thanks in advance for your answers.

Astronomy news on Phys.org
My guess is that they use Windows in their office and Linux for their lab equipment? This is a common practice in many labs.