Which new language should i learn?

1. I, as of right now, know two languages. My first language is English (duh) and the other is German, which i am still learning. I am not the greatest German speaker by no means but i can read and speak some German. German is a neat language to speak and write but i feel it won't be a language that I'll use to often which defeats the point of learning a language. I really don't know to many people that speak German in my area.

I've been pondering this for some time. I want to learn a new language that will be beneficial for me. In my family, every ones Italian and everyone know how to speak at least some Italian. So it makes scenes that Italian would probably be my best choice. My other choice would be Latin. Although Latin isn't really a spoken language anymore, I have heard it does have uses. Many words come from the Latin language. Some which are everyday words and some are scientific. Latin is also, of course, where all romantic languages come from. French , Spanish, Italian. In this sense it could be useful if i learn some Latin and then learn some Italian. I want an opinion, though, from you people. You people are smart. What do you think i should do? ALL comments are welcome.

Thanks for your response!! It means a lot.

2. jcsd
  3. Greg Bernhardt

Staff: Admin

Absolutely learn what you are most interested in, it will make all the difference, even if relatively obscure. However, Spanish and French are prolly the most useful in the world.

4. vanesch

vanesch 6,236
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

5. Learn Finnish like I did for absolutely no reason.

Learn Spanish, then you you can learn Italian with great ease.
    Then go on from there.

6. Russian, Spanish, or Chinese(Mandarin) are pretty helpful and useful. Those plus Italian have been my choices over the years.

7. symbolipoint

symbolipoint 3,193
    Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member