Which one of my majors should i drop?

• Programs
  • Thread starter creepypasta13
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Drop
In summary, it is possible to finish a double major in just four more classes, but it is not likely to lead to a good job. If you choose to drop one of your majors, it may be harder to find an internship.
creepypasta13
i'm in my 4th year in college, double majoring in physics and applied math. I'm looking for applied math or mechanical engineering for grad school, probably computational fluid dynamics or heat transfer for ME

i haven't taken any ME classes, all the ME profs I asked to help research with either didnt want me or didnt respond to my emails, and i can't get an ME related internsship out of the 100's of applications I've submitted

i want to take at least 1 ME class next semester (good idea?) to get some idea if its what i want to do for grad school. problem is, if i continue my double major with physics and applied math, if i take ME classses, i won't graduate until the end of my 5th year. if i drop one of my majors, i can graduate a quarter (we use trimester system) earlier and hopefully do a full-time job during spring of my 5th year instead of taking classes

which major should i drop? I'm thinking physics, because if i don't drop it, i have to take one of the classes this spring which has a time conflict with numerical analysis. i heard from a applied math postdoc that its important to take numerical analysis to see if applied math is really what i want to do in grad school. but since i only need 4 more classes to complete the major, it seems like a waste to drop it. plus, i will feel proud to complete a B.S. in physics