Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Which physics for physical chemistry?

1. Dec 24, 2017 #1
    Hey guys,

I was wondering if algebra based physics will be useful or I will be in a disadvantage? I’m doing a minor in chemsitry and math. So I’m not sure when I will take PCHEM. Probably after partial differential equations I will take it. I’m hoping to take it in fall 2019 or spring 2020.im a tranafer student who recently changed major to biology.

Thanks,
    Christian

NOTE: I’m asking becaaue I will be taking general physics 1 and 2 in the summer 2018

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 25, 2017 #2

kuruman

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

I would recommend calculus-based physics. You will have more than enough math background for that and the physical concepts will be easier for you to grasp. People like you with a strong math background are sometimes baffled by the subterfuges that are used in algebra-based physics courses to get around the calculus; they don't see what's going on until it's explained to them using calculus. I saw this happen when I taught an algebra-based course. Once I used calculus to explain the same ideas, the students immediately "saw the light". So you might as well do it right from the beginning. In my opinion, algebra-based intro physics courses are easier only for those who have no calculus background.

4. Dec 25, 2017 #3
    The problem is that my professor at the university didn’t really use calculus for the physics class. I took the calculus based physics and I didn’t learn nothing. I got a bad grade (F) that’s because I didn’t have the resources and help. My mom already hired a tutor for me to go over from Scratch starting chapter 1 and hopefully end by chapter 3. I could take the calculus based physics again, but will it benefit me from taking the same professor twice?

5. Dec 25, 2017 #4

Vanadium 50