Why define equivalence relations, posets etc.

In summary: Well, that's a bit more complicated. Two different representations of an object might be the same if they are both faithful representations of the object- that is, if they agree on all the details of the object. But two representations might not be the same if they disagree on some details of the object. For example, suppose you have two drawings of a house: one is a pencil sketch, and the other is a computer-generated image. Both representations of the house are accurate representations of the house, but the pencil sketch is more detailed than the computer-generated image. The computer-generated image might be considered a more faithful representation of the house than the pencil sketch.
Avichal
I am studying set theory and I came across various definitions like equivalence relations, partial order relations, antisymmetric and many more. I am aware mathematicians don't care about real life applications but still - why are we defining so many relations? What is the use of defining equivalence relations, posets, maximal element etc.

Physics news on Phys.org
All of these are part of the study of general order relations on sets; there are other terms, like maximal elements, supremum, etc., that are used to prove certain results,like the Hahn-Banach theorem,etc. . I don't know if this

is the type of answer you were looking for?

And, BTW, there are applied mathematicians out there interested in applications .

All of mathematics consists in saying that "these things" are the same- in some sense. An equivalence relation. And then we treat all of the thing that are the "same" in that sense as "the same thing"- i.e., an equivalence class. As for "relations" in general, in a very real sense, relations are all there are in mathematics!

The concept of relations and sets is really useful but I don't really understand the use of equivalence relation and other defined things.