Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why define equivalence relations, posets etc.

1. Aug 21, 2012 #1
    I am studying set theory and I came across various definitions like equivalence relations, partial order relations, antisymmetric and many more. I am aware mathematicians don't care about real life applications but still - why are we defining so many relations? What is the use of defining equivalence relations, posets, maximal element etc.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 21, 2012 #2

Bacle2

Science Advisor

All of these are part of the study of general order relations on sets; there are other terms, like maximal elements, supremum, etc., that are used to prove certain results,like the Hahn-Banach theorem,etc. . I don't know if this

is the type of answer you were looking for?

And, BTW, there are applied mathematicians out there interested in applications .

4. Aug 21, 2012 #3

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

All of mathmatics consists in saying that "these things" are the same- in some sense. An equivalence relation. And then we treat all of the thing that are the "same" in that sense as "the same thing"- i.e., an equivalence class. As for "relations" in general, in a very real sense, relations are all there are in mathematics!

5. Aug 21, 2012 #4
    The concept of relations and sets is really useful but I dont really understand the use of equivalence relation and other defined things.
    Maybe an application of equivalent relation might help

6. Aug 21, 2012 #5

Stephen Tashi

Science Advisor