Why is the vacuum normalised to 1?

• Thread starter madness
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Vacuum
In summary, the conversation discusses the interpretation of the normalisation of states in quantum field theory, specifically in the example of the real scalar field. It is stated that <0|0>=1, which means that the probability of measuring the vacuum state is 1. It is questioned whether this implies that the probabilities of measuring all states add up to an infinite number, or if a probability greater than one corresponds to measuring multiple particles. It is then clarified that in regular quantum mechanics, the probability of measuring a state is not necessarily 1. The conversation ends with a realization that the confusion was a simple mistake.
madness
I'm studying (relativistic) quantum field theory and have a very simple question. Take for example the real scalar field. My notes simply state that <0|0>=1 is a very natural normalisation. If I'm not mistaken, then this implies that the probability of measuring the vacuum state is 1. How is this to be interpreted? If the field has an infinite number of states then will the probabilities add up to an infinite number? Does a probability greater than one correspond to the measurement of more than one particle? I think not because multiple particles correspond to a single state.

Basically, I don't understand how the normalisation of states is to be interpreted in quantum field theory. Can anyone help?

Physics news on Phys.org
<0|0>=1 means that measuring the state |0> will yield the state |0> with probability 1 which is quite intuitive no?

The probability of actually measuring the stat |0> on any arbitrary ket is <0|psi> which is not necessarily 1 no?

This is just based off my knowledge from regular QM. If something changes in QFT then, disregard what I'm saying...