Working out the sides on a die and the numerical ratio on the die

In summary, the conversation discusses a probability problem involving a set of numbers and randomly drawing two numbers from the set. The goal is to find the probabilities of certain combinations occurring and determine the number of sides needed on the dice for each number to appear. The problem can be translated into simultaneous equations and solved using algorithms such as Buchberger's algorithm or Wu's method of elimination. The final solution involves a probability of 130/135 for one number and 2/135 for the others.
lyric
Being a hobbiest programmer, I know enough about probability to get by. However, I've set myself an impossible (for me) calculation in my current personal project.

I have a set of numbers. For this particular problem it is a set of four numbers {248, 184, 120, 56}, but I'll be repeating the process for many different sets of numbers (both in value and size).

Twice, I randomly draw a number from the set. Each draw is independent of the last so each draw can be thought of as a roll of 2 identical dice. I am looking for the following probabilities occurring:

(248.248) || (248.184) || (248.120) || (248.56) || (184.120) = 1998/2000

(184.184) || (184.56) || (56.56) = 1/2000

(120.120) || (120.56) || (56.56) = 1/2000

And wondering which way I should 'load' my dice i.e. how many sides do they need and on how many sides should each number appear?

I'm not sure of the notation mathematics uses for this, so I've stuck in logical operators as used in computing. "." = AND, "||" = OR. I guess I'm looking for this

(A AND A) OR (A AND B) OR (A AND C) OR (A AND D) OR (B AND C) = 1998/2000

(B AND B) OR (B AND D) OR (D AND D) = 1/2000

(C AND C) OR (C AND D) OR (D AND D) = 1/2000

I've gotten close, but that (D AND D) reappearing in both groups has me absolutely stumped.