Aspect's Experiment Was Flawed

• Thread starter Maestro
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Experiment
In summary, the validity of quantum mechanics has been established through various experiments, not solely on Aspect's experiment. QM accurately describes the world we live in, but it does not provide an explanation for it. It is a recipe or owner's manual, and it has been tested and proven to work through various experiments such as the detailed description of black-body radiation, the discovery of spin, and the use of QM in modern electronics. While some may question the philosophical implications of QM, its accuracy and usefulness have been demonstrated.
Maestro
I'm a newbie to theoretical physics and I'm having difficulty accepting quantum mechanics. For starters, it sounds like the validity of quantum mechanics rests solely on the shoulders of Aspect's experiment (which sounds a bit far fetched to me). If I understand correctly, the experiment involves two entangled particles that are being analyzed by two different sensors. The sensors can only detect the spin direction of each particle about a given axis. Since the two particles must have the same spin (because they are entangled particles), simply measuring each particle's spin using each corresponding sensor set to the same axis should reveal identical results for every run. Instead, Aspect chose to measure the rotation about three random but specific axes and then see how many times the rotations were detected as identical. According to Aspect, the rotations of the two particles should be in the same direction more than 50% of the time. Simply put, there are nine possible combinations of clockwise and countercockwise rotations between the two particles. If the particles both have the exact same spins, then they will both have the exact same rotations for each of the three given axes. Regardless of what those rotations are (assuming they are not all identical), the results of the test should reveal that the rotat