Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

32 tonne mass dropped from 1.5m

1. Aug 4, 2011 #1
    I am an engineer working on the design of a concrete ground floor slab.

the slab in question could be subject to the impact loading of a 32 metric tonne mass falling from a heigh of 1.5m. i am trying to convert this into a point load in kN.

could some kind soul please review my calculations below:

velocity = square root of 2gh = 5.4222 m/s

kinetic energy = 0.5mv^2 = 0.5 x 32000 x 5.4222^2 = 470400 joules......

as joules is a work force it converts to kNm. can it be converted to a kN point load??

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 4, 2011 #2
    Since energy would more or less be conserved, you could have just calculated PE = mgh = KE instead of going a whole loop.

Also, do floors not take into account the pressure (as well as the maximum weight) that it can hold, instead of the force?

4. Aug 4, 2011 #3

rock.freak667

Homework Helper

You can see the formula for impact stress here.

You will need to know how much it will deflect the concrete though in either case.

5. Nov 10, 2011 #4
    but i cant work out deflection of floor slab untill i derive a load in kN.

6. Nov 10, 2011 #5
    can anybody help me convert a 32 tonne load, into a point load when dropped from a height of 1.5m?????

7. Nov 10, 2011 #6

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It looks, at first, as if you need to know both the force and the distance moved, before you work out either of the quantities. But there are ways round this problem.

If you were to assume that the floor is like a spring (with a spring constant that could be found out) then you could equate the energy stored in this 'spring' when it is fully deflected to the energy at the start..