A couple of questions on set theory

In summary, the Cartesian product and Cartesian square can be constructed in a way that follows the format \{x\in A~\vert~P(x)\}.
Dods
Hi. I'm studying calculus in high school right now, and I became really interested in how calculus could be developed from a mathematically rigorous point of view. One of my instructors suggested I learn some set theory, so for about a week I've been researching stuff on the internet - very introductory stuff, like what subsets, unions, intersections are, the difference between naive set theory and ZF(C)...
I've gotten Naive Set Theory by Paul R. Halmos.

Set theory's turned out to be a lot more fun than I thought (it's nice to deal with this kind of math for a change) but I have a few questions.

My first question is: In a few places, it’s been said that the axiom of specification resolves Russell’s Paradox, but I couldn’t find anywhere how exactly it does this.

As I understand it, the axiom says that for every set [itex]A[/itex] and condition [itex]P(x)[/itex], there exists a set [itex]B[/itex] whose elements are all the elements of [itex]A[/itex] that satisfy the condition [itex]P(x)[/itex], or
[tex]B =\{x\in A~\vert~P(x)\}[/tex]

That would mean Russell's paradoxical set [itex]R= \{x|x\notin x\}[/itex] would have to be rewritten in the form [itex]R=\{x\in A~\vert~x\notin x\}[/itex].

How does this guarantee or prove that Russell's paradox doesn't arise? What if [itex]A\in A[/itex] - then you would have $$\{A\in A~\vert~A\notin A\}$$ which would mean that if [itex]A\in A[/itex], by definition [itex]A\notin A[/itex], and if [itex]A\notin A[/itex], [itex]A[/itex] is a member of [itex]A[/itex].

I researched a bit and found that one of the axioms of ZFC implies no set can be a member of itself, but some sources said you don't need this axiom to resolve Russell's paradox. I tried to prove that [itex]A\notin A[/itex], and that went nowhere. I feel like I'm missing something basic.