1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advanced Topics in Mathematics post DE

1. Mar 30, 2015 #1
    Hello,
    I am a software professional and 33 years old. I always loved mathematics but never studied/practiced it seriously and forgot whatever I had learnt before. One and half years back I started with algebra and then calculus, multivariable calculus and differential equations. All were self-study and now I am fairly comfortable till differential eqns. Next, I need your advice on how to proceed further.

Can you pls. suggest what should I focus on next? Also, can you pls. suggest good reference books? I tried learning Complex Analysis from Advanced Engineering Mathematics by Kreyszig. No doubt it is a great book but I found it difficult. It seems this book is good for revising/practicing for those who are well familiar with those topics. But I am starting from scratch. Generally, I find those books hard where multiple concepts are combined in one sentence and explained very crisply with too many statistical symbols (i.e. less of explanation and more of equations and symbols - for example: I have seen cases where a simple concept that can be expressed simply with a couple of words are explained with only equations and statistical symbols - and too many of them confuses me).

I found the online materials by Prof. Paul Dawkins of Lamar University to be perfect for me. It explains all the concepts beautifully in very simple language. It covers till Diff. Equations. I wish there had been many other advanced math materials from the same author.

Eagerly awaiting your response. Basically, what I am looking for is to curve out a plan for the next 1 or 2 years with your help. Pls. also include other suggestions that you might think should be useful to me.