Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice for a confused math/engineering guy.

1. Aug 25, 2010 #1
    Hi everyone. I'm having a bit of a crisis here and I'd appreciate any help.

I'm 24 years old, I have a bachelor's degree in math, specializing in computer science and logic, and right now I'm doing a graduate diploma in engineering science at the University of Auckland. My grades in math weren't great, but my grades in engineering are not bad (I have straight A's so far). The reason I chose to do a graduate diploma in engineering was, to be honest, I don't think of myself as smart enough to continue my education in mathematics, despite the fact that I love math.

I'm pretty sure I want to continue my education in some form, preferably a (research) master's degree (I hate coursework at this point).

Projects I've worked on in the past:
    AI (neural networks, machine learning, ...)
    Image processing (feature recognition, ...)
    Algorithms (complexity theory, implementation, ...)
    Operations Research
    Programming (mobile database applications, data mining, etc...)

I have not yet had a job requiring any of these skills, the reason being that I finished my bachelor's in a third-world country, and right now I'm in New Zealand and I have no work visa (and furthermore, for now I am expressly forbidden to have one).

I want to apply to an American university, but I'm really confused as to what program I should be considering, and (given my background) what Universities will accept my application. Do you guys think I have a shot at the top universities? My advisor told me that it was worth a shot, but I don't want to be wasting my time if it's hopeless.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 26, 2010 #2

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Do you want to continue on in computer science?