1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice for a former Theatre major doing a 180 into Physics?

1. Jun 22, 2010 #1
    Hi Guys and Gals - I need some help. My educational professional career to date has been somewhat aimless and meandering. Good news - I think I know where I want to go now. Bad news - my background does nothing for me.

I have had a hard time figuring out where I want to go or what I want to do. I have a BA in Theatre Arts, which I got because 1) I had no idea what I wanted to major in and 2) I had some idea of doing writing. When I graduated, still having little or no goal or aim, I went into the US Air Force as an Enlisted Computer Programmer for six years. When I finished that I returned to my hometown, home to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and have been working at a local military surplus store - fitting as I'm military surplus myself.

As a youth I had attention span issues (ADD) and no taste for note-taking, and little self-discipline. I still struggle with these, but have matured slightly since then. I always was fascinated with the sciences, and loved learning about them, but due to my distaste for note-taking assumed that I could never do that professionally and shied away from calculus and the sciences academically with a passion.