Advice on Switching from Physics to Engineering: Transferring from LAC

In summary, the speaker is a freshman at a top ten liberal arts college in the U.S. with a strong physics department. They initially believed they were interested in pure physics, but have since realized their true interest lies in engineering. They plan to transfer to a school in the northeast to pursue a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering. They are seeking advice on courses to take and when the best time to transfer would be. They are also concerned about not being able to take the EIT exam and becoming a PE due to not having a bachelor's in engineering.
jrusselcbrown
This year I am a freshman at a top ten liberal arts college in the U.S. with a strong physics department. In case you need a little reference material on my academic background my fall semester GPA was 3.4 and my SAT scores from high school (reading & math) where a combined 1350. I am posting on the boards in search of some guidance.

I entered my current school with the belief that I was interested in pure physics and if I chickened out of grad school for physics I could "fall back" on a masters of engineering degree. What I failed to realize was that my interest was really in engineering in the first place and that selecting a school with no program was not a great way to start my collegiate career. Additionally without a bachelor's in engineering some states will not allow you to sit the EIT exam and the ones that do for engineering masters candidates (justifiably so) make you wait until the completion of your masters degree. This means that it is even later in your career when you can become a PE and I do not want to close any doors by not being licensed.

My goal now is to transfer into a school in the northeast to complete a bachelors of mechanical engineering. I will provide my freshman schedule so that readers can comment on courses I may want to take to get up to speed on engineering curriculum.

Fall Semester: