Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Alternative Proof of Fermat's Last Theorem?

1. Jul 18, 2012 #1
    I found this paper, which is a supposed "proof" of Fermat's Last Theorem, while I was doodling around online. I would have normally ignored it, due to the vast quantity of crackpot proofs that are available on the subject. But the author of this proof (someone named Andrew H. Warren) claims in the paper, "Originally submitted to American Mathematical Society on February 16, 1991. Not rejected – no flaws
    were found. Not accepted – the referees could not grasp the key concept. The author hopes that improved presentation and better graphics will make the understanding of the concept easier to grasp.
    ".

I'm just a beginner in proofs, but it certainly didn't seem like an "algebra-without-justification" type proof. Could anyone here have a look at it, and tell if it's genuine, or just another crank playing with big words?

Here's the file:- files.asme.org/MEMagazine/Articles/Web/15299.pdf

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 18, 2012 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I find the phrase "not rejected- not accepted" very strange. If it was not accepted then it was rejected! He says "no flaws. The referees could not grasp the key concept". That makes me think he did what cranks usually do. Having no idea what a mathematical proof is there was so much handwaving, undefined terms, and non-sequiturs that that the referees could NOT grasp what he was saying and did not point out specific "flaws". Cranks never realize the fact that making no sense is a flaw- and an uncorrectable one.