Am I smart enough to study Physics?

In summary: How do you know if you are smart enough to study physics?In summary, the person is unsure if they have what it takes to study math and physics, but they have a curiosity about the natural world and a desire to understand the mathematical reality that binds it. They have no previous physics classes and have put minimal effort into their math classes. They are looking for inspiration and motivation to pursue physics and are unsure if they are smart enough to succeed in the field.
TruthSeeker
Little bit about myself. I go to a top 50 school and I'm currently majoring in Math. I got an A in Cal 1 and 2 and a C in Cal 3. I got an A- in Discrete Math. No physics classes. I did not really put any effort in Cal 3 and did not do any homework (currently poorly motivate, which is why I want to get out of Math). Still I'm unsure whether I have what it takes to study math/physics. I got a B in regular high school physics. I have a curiosity of the natural world, but I'm afraid that this curiosity might just be shallow. I want to understand the mathematical reality which binds the physical world. How do you know if you are smart enough to study physics? Where do you get your motivation from? Also if I wanted to go to grad school in say physics, would a math degree and two lower division physics classes be enough to get in?

Physics news on Phys.org
Your topic title:
Am I smart enough to study Physics?

and what you say about yourself:
I got an A in Cal 1 and 2 and a C in Cal 3. I got an A- in Discrete Math. No physics classes. I did not really put any effort in Cal 3 and did not do any homework (currently poorly motivate, which is why I want to get out of Math). Still I'm unsure whether I have what it takes to study math/physics.

means, Yes.

TruthSeeker said:
No physics classes. I did not really put any effort in Cal 3 and did not do any homework (currently poorly motivate, which is why I want to get out of Math).