• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products via PF Here!

Other Am I smart enough to study Physics?

Little bit about myself. I go to a top 50 school and I'm currently majoring in Math. I got an A in Cal 1 and 2 and a C in Cal 3. I got an A- in Discrete Math. No physics classes. I did not really put any effort in Cal 3 and did not do any hw (currently poorly motivate, which is why I want to get out of Math). Still I'm unsure whether I have what it takes to study math/physics. I got a B in regular high school physics. I have a curiosity of the natural world, but I'm afraid that this curiosity might just be shallow. I want to understand the mathematical reality which binds the physical world. How do you know if you are smart enough to study physics? Where do you get your motivation from? Also if I wanted to go to grad school in say physics, would a math degree and two lower division physics classes be enough to get in?

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
Education Advisor
Gold Member
Your topic title:
Am I smart enough to study Physics?

and what you say about yourself:
I got an A in Cal 1 and 2 and a C in Cal 3. I got an A- in Discrete Math. No physics classes. I did not really put any effort in Cal 3 and did not do any hw (currently poorly motivate, which is why I want to get out of Math). Still I'm unsure whether I have what it takes to study math/physics.
means, Yes.

No physics classes. I did not really put any effort in Cal 3 and did not do any hw (currently poorly motivate, which is why I want to get out of Math).
You won't get far in physics before seeing a lot more math than you've already seen.

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
Education Advisor
Gold Member
You mentioned nothing of Trigonometry, but one would assume that more than just basic Trigonometry was used and learned (or relearned) as part of your Calc 2 & 3. Like I say, you are almost certainly "smart enough" to study Physics.