1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Other Am I too sensitive for graduate school?

1. Jun 21, 2016 #1
    This is silly, you can say it's silly and I respect that. It also seems like a thread that I would roll my eyes at and say "if you have to ask this, you probably are."

The situation is as follows. I'm a second-year graduate student working in an experimental lab. There is a postdoc here who is very hostile to me and me only, to the point of actually shouting at me. This is a personality clash with me, since I cry easily when yelled at. I am still learning so when I do/say something wrong, he just screams "NO!" and is very frustrated with me (which I understand, this is justified), or when I go to find him I get a "what do YOU want?"

Now, all of this is fine, great, dandy. People have clashes, postdocs get frustrated, nothing new. However, I cannot control my crying when somebody yells at me (yes, I'm a baby! haha) but I find it SO embarrassing to have this be a daily occurrence. Were it possible to speak to someone higher up I would, but having spoken to my PI only once in the 4 months I've been here it seems like a poor idea.

The only thing I can come up with is to switch groups, but I really enjoy the work that I do and cannot think of another lab that I would be as interested in.

I'm hoping that anyone here can give me advice. This has gotten to the point where I dread going to work in the morning which is very unlike me.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 21, 2016 #2

MarneMath

Education Advisor