1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

AMO Physics graduate at UC Boulder

1. Jan 9, 2014 #1
    Hello, I am a currently a masters student in biomedical engineering with an interest in optics and am planning on applying to UC Boulder for AMO physics for my Phd and was wondering if there are any graduate students from UC Boulder in AMO physics who can give me some advice with regards to the admission process. How hard is it to get in?

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 9, 2014 #2

Cthugha

Science Advisor

I am not a grad student, but I have been a postdoc at CU Boulder (or rather JILA) last year and seen the crowds of students being led around on recruitment day and talked to the faculty around about how the numbers developed.

First off, JILA is top notch in AMO, so jumping across from biomed engineering will not be the easiest task and will require a lot of hard work. I suppose you have already done all the necessary coursework to be admitted and have reasonably good grades. The typical way to go to a PhD is to start straight after the bachelor, but this is not necessarily the only way.