• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

An EE want to specialize in E&M field theory

Main Question or Discussion Point

I am studying EE and want to know more about electric and magnetic field theory in more detail probably at the Quantum level.i realized that studying physics will suffice that but i am getting negative feedback from others that it will be not good for my career,they are saying that these things do not belong to my field but i don't understand how electric and magnetic field theory is unrelated to electrical engineering.The main reason i want to study E&M theory or physics in general because i believe that if i know how these natural processes occur then i can build electrical machines based on new principles which are more efficient than existing machines which are based on the Faraday's law electromagnetic induction discovered in the 19th century!.can anyone suggest what will be the advantage/disadvantages of doing PhD in physics(experimental/theoretical) after bachelors degree in electrical engineering.Will it help my cause? Btw i live in India.

Answers and Replies

E&M stops at Maxwell's equations in EE. It is primarily used as a tool in creating high frequency circuits as well as antennas. You will find that E&M is already well-understood at the quantum level thanks to Feynman, Dirac, and others.

If you want to do something new, I strongly suggest joining a physics research group, because they are the ones pushing forward in redesigning existing devices (e.g., spin-transistors).

ZapperZ
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Education Advisor
Insights Author