Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Analysis problem for my research

1. May 13, 2008 #1
    This is not a homework problem. I've encountered something in my research in potential theory, and I need to prove the following.

h(t) = f(t) + g(t),
    f '(t) < 0 for all t,
    g'(t) > 0 for all t, and g'(t) is monotonically increasing,
    f '(0) = 0,
    g'(0) > 0,
    f '(t) has exactly one minimum, and [tex]\lim_{t\to\infty}f'(t) = 0[/tex].

Show that h'(t) has at most three zeros.
  2. jcsd
  3. May 14, 2008 #2
    Replace it by:
    H(t)=h'(t), F(t)=f'(t), G(t)=-g'(t)
    F(t)<0, F(0)=0, G(t)<0, G(0)<0, G(t) monotonically decreasing
    [tex]\lim_{t\to\infty}f'(t) = 0[/tex].
    I see at most 2 zeros from graph example.
    But I am not a mathmatical professional so cant help u walk it through.
    Hope this can help.
  4. May 14, 2008 #3

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    2015 Award

are f,g analytic, or maybe polynomials? if they are only smooth functions, it seems fairly easy to construct counterexamples where h' has infinitely many zeroes.

just let g = e^x, and let the graph of -f be parallel to, even equal to, the graph of g, over some interval like 1 < x < 2. then for x > 2 let the graph of -f have a flex (unique max of -f') and let -f' start to decrease toward zero as x--> infinity.

for x<1, just let graph -f straighten up to the left faster than that of g, so it becoems horizontal at x = 0, to get -f' = 0.

then -f' = g' for 1 < x < 2, so h' = f' + g' = 0 for all x: 1<x<2.
  5. May 14, 2008 #4
    The most I can say is that they are subharmonic.