1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Anybody know about these schools?

1. Dec 29, 2007 #1
    Hi-

I was wondering, does anybody know anything about the Aerospace Engineering programs at either Virginia Tech or Penn State (University Park Campus). Possibly anything about how they rank compared to other Aerospace Engineering Programs in the United States (or compared to eachother)? As an aspiring aerospace engineer, I'm really not sure which one to attend (I'm planning on going in the fall this year for a Bachelors Degree). I greatly appreciate any information/insight on this topic.

Thanks!

-aeroeng212

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 29, 2007 #2
    Got this from another thread...

4. Dec 29, 2007 #3
    Personally, I would go to Penn State, but that's just my uneducated opinion about those schools.

5. Dec 29, 2007 #4
    Unfortunately, US News now only shows the top three schools in each category without buying a subscription. A list of the US News 2008 engineering rankings can be found here:
    http://talk.collegeconfidential.com...ews-2008-engineering-ranking-compilation.html.

For aerospace engineering:
    1 Massachusetts Inst. of Technology
    2 Georgia Institute of Technology *
    3 University of Michigan–Ann Arbor *
    4 Stanford University (CA)
    5 California Institute of Technology
    6 Purdue Univ.–West Lafayette (IN)*
    6 U. of Illinois–Urbana-Champaign *
    8 Princeton University (NJ)
    9 University of Texas–Austin *
    10 Cornell University (NY)
    10 Univ. of Maryland–College Park *
    12 Texas A&M Univ.–College Station *
    13 Pennsylvania State U.–University Park *
    14 Virginia Tech *
    15 University of Washington *
    16 Univ. of California–Los Angeles *
    16 Univ. of Southern California