Application:interview ratio in the U.S.?

• Job Skills
  • Thread starter GladScientist
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ratio
In summary, when applying for entry level positions (flipping burgers for McD's), you have to fill out 60 applications to get an interview.
GladScientist
When applying for entry level positions (flipping burgers for McD's), how many applications do you have to fill out to get a job? I've been applying for about 5 years, and did exactly 60 applications in the last two weeks alone. I have never been contacted by any employer, and have no paid work experience.

Am I just extraordinarily unlucky, or not trying hard enough? How many applications do you guys have to fill out, on average, to at least get an interview?

Physics news on Phys.org
GladScientist said:
When applying for entry level positions (flipping burgers for McD's), how many applications do you have to fill out to get a job? I've been applying for about 5 years, and did exactly 60 applications in the last two weeks alone. I have never been contacted by any employer, and have no paid work experience.

Am I just extraordinarily unlucky, or not trying hard enough? How many applications do you guys have to fill out, on average, to at least get an interview?
Depends, if they are hiring - 1.

For entry level jobs like this, focus on applying at places that say "help wanted" in the window, or have an ad saying they are hiring.

I got an interview (but not a job) at the second place at which I applied (a Subway, no prior work experience). Are you applying at the "right" times? The best time to apply is before summer break starts and all the college and high school kids start hunting.

I would recommend that rather than just filling out applications you spend some time speaking with people.