1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Applying to two grad programs at the same school?

1. Aug 11, 2011 #1
    Is there anything "wrong" with applying to two programs at the same school, in different departments? Is this looked down upon in any way?

I'll be applying for grad schools in the next few months, and I'm quite interested in an interdisciplinary area of research. Maryland has a "Chaos Group," and I think I'd like to do research in that area. http://www-chaos.umd.edu/ is the website for the research group.

They collaborate with several departments, including the Physics department (which would be a natural choice for me, since I'm a physics undergrad) and applied mathematics.

Nonlinear dynamics and chaos is listed on both the physics page (http://umdphysics.umd.edu/research/experimental/74-nonlineardynamicsexperiment.html) and the applied math page (http://www.amsc.umd.edu/research/research_group_websites.html) as research areas.

So, if I wanted to do work in that area, would it make sense to apply to both the physics grad program AND the applied math grad program? Or is there a pitfall there I'm not aware of?

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 26, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 11, 2011 #2
    The only issue would be if people perceive you as unfocused. And some schools might possibly prohibit you from applying to more than one program at once.

That said, I think most likely this won't be a problem.

I often thought you could earn a PhD in Logic through a Logic program, a Mathematics program, a CS program, or Philosophy.

4. Aug 11, 2011 #3

Pengwuino

Gold Member