Are photons affected by the strong force? The weak force?

In summary, photons can travel through an atom and interact with subatomic particles. They are not affected by the strong force, but can be affected by the weak force at high energy levels. In quantum mechanics, photons do not travel in straight paths and their interactions with atoms and subatomic particles are determined by probability and energy levels. The photoelectric effect is not an atomic reaction, but a reaction in a solid where electrons behave as a collective.
potmobius
Can light travel through an atom? If yes, how will it emerge? If no, why not? Will it interact with any subatomic particles?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm inclined to believe that photons, being the electromagnetic force carriers, aren't affected by any other forces. but then, this is not really my field. haha, excuse the pun.

hahaha. I'm still a novice at physics, but I'm fascinated by it, and questions like these just seem to pop up into my head every now and then, for no apparent reason! Anyways, I thought photons might be affected by the electrons in the atom, as they might increase the electrons' energy to throw them out of the atom... photoelectric effect, anyone? But, assuming that the incident photons on an atom do manage to make it past the electron cloud without interacting with them, how would they react when they hit the nucleus?

potmobius said:
Can light travel through an atom? If yes, how will it emerge? If no, why not? Will it interact with any subatomic particles?
Many nuclei have photonuclear reactions, such as (photon,neutron) or (photon, alpha particle). For example, photons above about 20 MeV on oxygen-16 will knock a neutron out, leaving radioactive oxygen-15. The cross section is typically a few millibarns.
For comparison, the nuclear size (radius) for oxygen is about R=1.3A1/3 x 10-13 cm = 3.2 x 10-13 cm, so geometric area = 0.33 barns.

potmobius said: