B. comp sci after b. and m. math

• Thread starter michael.wes
  • Start date
  • Tags
    comp sci
In summary: However, I am not sure how much of this I should disclose to prospective supervisors as they may not take kindly to someone who is not yet 'finished' with their degree.In summary, the author is interested in doing research in cryptography at the PhD level, but does not have much formal computer science background. He is interested in finding a program that will allow him to do research in this area. He is from Canada.
michael.wes
Gold Member
Hello,

I am writing to ask for some academic career guidance. I am interested in doing research in cryptography at the PhD level. At present, I do not have much in the way of formal computer science, but I have programmed during internships/co-op positions and during a few undergraduate courses.

My background is in pure mathematics (bachelor's) and cryptography (master's). Most of the departmental groups I've looked at are in the realm of computer science, so I would have to write CS comps, e.g. on complexity theory, languages...

My question is this: how do you view a candidate who has gone back to retrain in computer science after having spent 7 years to get a bachelor's and master's of mathematics in order to go direct into PhD comp. sci? Do you know of successful examples of this route? Is this generally considered a bad idea?

I see several options after another bachelor's without going into PhD... but I somehow feel unfulfilled, and I enjoy doing research, so I want to explore every possible avenue.

I appreciate any comments/suggestions/criticisms. If I am being too vague, please also let me know.

I should probably also include:
math bachelor's last 2 years GPA: 77
math master's GPA: 80.8

Physics news on Phys.org