Best way to get summer internship

In summary, when trying to secure an internship in the field of Computer Science, it is recommended to utilize strategies such as sending your CV to multiple companies and seeking advice from campus career services. Additionally, job shadowing can also be a beneficial approach to finding internship opportunities.
Max.Planck
Hi,

I would like to know, what are good strategies to use when you are trying to get an internship. My background is Computer Science, I'm in my second year now. Should I just send my CV to as many companies?

Physics news on Phys.org
Just some advice: this is a very common question. You'd be better served searching the forums for good ways to get internships as it's not likely that you'll get all the information you need in this thread.

1. Check with your campus career services. They will often have a pile of info on internships.

2. Ask to job shadow someone. This can lead to all sorts of opportunities.

1. What is the best time to start looking for a summer internship?

The ideal time to start looking for a summer internship is at least 3-6 months before your desired start date. This will give you enough time to research and apply for various opportunities and increase your chances of getting accepted.

2. How can I find summer internships in my field of interest?

There are several ways to find summer internships in your field of interest. You can search online job portals, company websites, attend career fairs, network with professionals in your field, and reach out to your university's career center for assistance.

3. What should I include in my internship application?

Your internship application should include a well-written cover letter, your resume, transcripts, and any relevant work experience or projects. Make sure to tailor your application to the specific internship you are applying for and highlight your skills and qualifications.

4. How important is networking in securing a summer internship?