Best way to organize publications

• Thread starter jaap de vries
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Publications
In summary, the conversation is about finding a database software to easily organize and find PDF articles for a PhD research. The participants discuss different options, including using a VB application with an MS Access database, or using Google Desktop in combination with a folder hierarchy. They also consider the benefits and potential drawbacks of creating their own database, and the usefulness of extended search capabilities and additional keywords. The conversation ends with a recommendation to properly configure Google Desktop for efficient use.
jaap de vries
Dear friends,

I am in my last year of my PhD and I want something that I really should have done a long time ago, I need some kind of database software so I can easily organize and find the many PDF articles that I have on my computer. I know that there are probably several out there I would just like to get y'alls opinion about which one you would recommend.

PS: I know this is not necessarily aerospace or mechanical engineering specific but I am most likely to find like-minded people here.

Jaap

Engineering news on Phys.org
That's a good question. I too have, conservatively, 1000 pdf's and other files I use for reference. I try to sort them into different folders based on topic. Other than that, I haven't found a decent way to have a handy reference for my references. I thought a searchable format like Excel would work, but it really wasn't for me.

jaap de vries said:
Dear friends,

I am in my last year of my PhD and I want something that I really should have done a long time ago, I need some kind of database software so I can easily organize and find the many PDF articles that I have on my computer. I know that there are probably several out there I would just like to get y'alls opinion about which one you would recommend.