Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Biomathematics/Mathematical Biology

1. Jul 30, 2008 #1
    I'm a freshman who's about to enter the U of MN Twin Cities Campus this fall. My college offers a UG degree in "Mathematical Biology" that really is drawing my attention. What sort of work would be done with this? How marketable is the degree? I'm planning on going to graduate school, by the way.

What I would like to do is use mathematics to model and analyze biological systems, would this get me there?

Would it be advisable to get a UG degree in, say, Biomedical Engineering, as a fall-back career and then go to graduate school for Mathematical Biology?
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 30, 2008 #2
    For future reference, it would be helpful to supply a link for posts like these; e.g. http://www.math.umn.edu/undergrad/degree_requirements/#tracks

Anyway, it looks like this program is applied mathematics with several classes that the average math major would usually not take. Note that it's a specialization within the math major and not a separate degree program. With that said, it all depends on what you want to do with your life. Bioengineering is generally about applying engineering methodology to biomedical problems. This mathematical biology program seems like it supplies a mathematician with the necessary biological knowledge so that he/she may solve mathematical problems in biology.
  4. Jul 30, 2008 #3
    What are the career possibilities for that track after graduate school? Bioinformatics seems way too computer science-y for my liking and doesn't seem to involve much hard mathematics.

I'm really having an issue right now between pursuing my ideal degree in a theoretical math/science program or settling for a practical degree in engineering.
  5. Jul 30, 2008 #4