Biomedical engineering or biomedical EE

In summary, if you are interested in pursuing a career in biomedical engineering, it would be better to do so as an electrical engineering graduate student. There are no licensing requirements, and you would be at a disadvantage applying to a biomedical engineering program if you have not obtained a degree in electrical engineering.
axmls
I post this in career guidance, because I'm interested in the career effects of going one way or the other in terms of employability, as opposed to just the academic side. Please move it if it should be in Academic Guidance. I am in the U.S.

I'm an undergrad in electrical engineering. I have a lot of different interests, so I'm always trying to figure out what direction to take when I go to grad school. Something that's been really nagging at me (in a good way) is the application of engineering to medicine. Looking around various graduate programs, a lot of graduate programs in EE have concentrations in bioengineering.

Usually it focuses on sensing/image processing techniques, but it can vary a lot between universities. I was wondering--if I decided to go this route and do this concentration, would it be preferable to do it as an electrical engineering graduate student, or would it be better to apply to a biomedical engineering program? Would I be at a disadvantage applying to a biomedical engineering program with an EE undergrad (I understand biomedical engineering undergrad programs are usually not very useful on their own, and are very broad, so I imagine EE would complement it nicely)?