Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Brainstorming the double slit experiment

1. Mar 8, 2015 #1
    I'm know I'm just an enthusiastic newbie here, but something's been nagging me and I would appreciate if I could get some assistance on the matter.

I got a notion about light and the double slit experiment, the notion came to me as I was contemplating light travelling at its native speed. For light, some doesn't exist. It takes (from our point of view) just minutes for a photon to reach us, but for the photon itself, the travel is instantaneous. To the photon, time is meaningless, so is distance. For all intents and purposes it can be everywhere and nowhere at once; but most of all, everyTIME at once.

This is where the strange coincidence lies, as it almost describes the same weirdness that came out of the double slit experiment. So then what if this isn't some quantum phenomena but a more like a previously unobserved physical phenomena of stuff travelling at the speed of light?

Now I know they've been shooting the electron gun too at the slit and it came out with the same solution... this is where my own sense breaks down since electrons are much slower...

So... food for thought?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 8, 2015 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

Physics just does not work if you try to consider the "view" of light. This has nothing to do with the double slit experiment. And as you mentioned, the double slit experiment works with all sorts of particles independent of their speed.

4. Mar 8, 2015 #3
    I second what mfb said above, and...
    ... I'd also like to suggest you have a look at this page:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Light_cone

5. Mar 8, 2015 #4

bhobba

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I have heard people say that but it doesn't gell for me.

If you put the speed of light into the Lorentz factor you get 1/0 which is undefined.