BS physics to a MS mech. engineering?

In summary, the conversation is about a 2nd year student at FSU who is considering switching majors from mechanical engineering to physics because they don't like the satellite campus. They are interested in pursuing a career as a Disney imagineer and are wondering if a BS in physics and MS in ME would be competitive in the field. They also have questions about qualifications for analytical finance work with a physics degree and how it compares to engineering and math majors. The advice given is to carefully consider the switch and potentially apply for a transfer instead. It is also noted that while mechanical engineering does require some physics knowledge, it is not as easy as it may seem.
jde08
I'm a 2nd year student at FSU. Currently a ME major. Considering switching because I don't like the satellite campus that houses the College of Engineering here. The main campus was why I selected FSU. I've heard that a BS physics is an easy crossover to a MS M.E. Plus I love physics, its my leisure reading usually. But I have a few questions.

- Would a BS physics/MS ME be competitive with a BS/MS ME in the field. My dream job is to be a Disney imagineer.
- What kind of qualifications are needed to do analytical finance work with physics? Would I be able to be competitive with engineering/math majors? As this would be my second job choice.

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm no expert, so I can't really answer your questions, but I would think twice before changing majors just because you don't like the campus. Granted, one's study environment is important, but still ...

jde08 said:
I'm a 2nd year student at FSU. Currently a ME major. Considering switching because I don't like the satellite campus that houses the College of Engineering here. The main campus was why I selected FSU. I've heard that a BS physics is an easy crossover to a MS M.E. Plus I love physics, its my leisure reading usually. But I have a few questions.