Can I PhD in astronomy with an electronics engg degree?

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of pursuing a PhD in astronomy after obtaining a Masters' degree in electrical engineering as a backup plan. The thread mentioned in the conversation suggests that while it is possible to switch disciplines, it may require making up for missing coursework. Some examples of individuals who have successfully switched disciplines are also mentioned. However, the overall consensus is that it is important to carefully consider and plan for this switch in order to be successful.
kr75
Hi, I am currently studying electronics engineering in India and I plan to start applying for the fall 2013 semester within the next 2-3 weeks. I am pursuing a Masters' and PhD in astronomy and I will apply for the same. However, if I do not get an admit for this course from the universities I apply to, can I go for a Masters' in ECE and go for PhD in astronomy? I know instrumentation is a big part of astronomy but in academic terms, would I have a good chance to pursue research?

Physics news on Phys.org
I have read the thread, however I feel this question (in my case) is different from the points mentioned there. While my major subject in my applications will be physics and astronomy, in case I fail to get an admit and as a back up I take up a Masters' course in electrical engineering, can I get a PhD in astronomy after that?

No, you can't.

(And I think you should read that thread more carefully)

Vanadium 50 said:
No, you can't.

(And I think you should read that thread more carefully)

Yes he can.

I know a math major who is doing her master in electrical engineering.

A physics professor who specializes in theoretical particle physics at my university did his undergrad in electrical engineering.

With an EE background he'd be good to do astronomical instrumentation or programming, I know of a few people who've done this.