Can you explain where the mathematics are in music?

In summary, the conversation discusses the relationship between music and mathematics, with the participants sharing their personal experiences and observations. They touch on topics such as equal temperament, the use of math in composing music, and the correlation between music and math in the brain. They also mention the historical connection between Pythagoras and the discovery of this relationship.
Niaboc67
I am a musician, I've been playing guitar form 8 years now. And piano and drums as well for under 3. People tell me music is mathematical same with artwork, something i am also very proficient at. Is it purely from the patterns of the notes and timing of the pitches that make it mathematical? Or the organization of notes into chords derived from scales and intervals. I understand how there are mathematical principals but the application doesn't seem like it, to me. I don't perceive it as mathematical, i am not a math wiz at all so i find it funny how something that people say is composed of math comes naturally for me. Can anyone illuminate this?

Thank you

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Oh where to begin...

The most fundamental aspect of modern western music is equal temperament. This comes from observing that if you raise by an octave you double the frequency. The chromatic notes arise from dividing this interval by 12 logarithmically.

A 12 note scale has relations with abelian groups. IIRC there is a connection between the subgroups and triads (i.e. all chords are mathematical). Some subgroups are "better" and these correspond to consonance. There's also some mathematical reason as to why the harmonic seventh is "sweeter" than the standard minor seventh.

Counterpoint. Oh counterpoint. There are entire books that use math to teach students how to compose counterpunctual music.