1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can you help me with Levi Civita Notation, please?

1. May 14, 2016 #1
    • OP warned about not using the homework template
    I need to prove B.(Gradient . B) - B X(Gradient X B)=Del{i} [B{i}B{j} -1/2 (kroneker delta {ij} B^2]

where I have used . as the dot product, {} as subscript. Thank you!

2. jcsd
  3. May 14, 2016 #2

blue_leaf77

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

If I write the left hand side using proper math symbols, is
    $$
    \mathbf{B} (\nabla \cdot \mathbf{B}) - \mathbf{B} \times (\nabla \times \mathbf{B})
    $$
    correct?

4. May 14, 2016 #3
    Hi Blue_leaf77,

Yes that is correct! Thank you, Im sorry I typed it so poorly I am new to Physics forums.

5. May 14, 2016 #4

blue_leaf77

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Then the equality in the original equation does not make sense because the left side is a vector whereas the right side is a scalar.

6. May 14, 2016 #5
    The right is still a vector, I have Bolded the vector quantities B.

7. May 14, 2016 #6
    This is essentially a proof from Jackson. But I need to show it with levi Cevita notation.

8. May 14, 2016 #7

blue_leaf77

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

No, it's not. For instance you have ##|\mathbf{B}|^2## which is a scalar.

9. May 14, 2016 #8
    I have uploaded the page from Jackson it is equation (6.119) I am trying to prove, however I must use Levi Cevita notation.

Attached Files:

10. May 14, 2016 #9

blue_leaf77

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper