Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Career Advice for Mechanical Engineering

1. Apr 16, 2012 #1
    Hi Everyone,

I am at a road block in my life where I have no idea what to do next in terms of my career plans. I graduated with a Bachelors in Biochemistry, and recently, I realized there was nothing that spoke to me within this field which I could obtain as a career.

I looked into Mechanical engineering, because I have always been good at/ comfortable/ enjoyed calculations and math, but also because I believe there is freedom within this field to do a wide variety of work. I had an epiphany the other day because I realized that I do not think I am very good at/ enjoy analyzing and using physics, and I fear that the work I do as a professional ME will consists of a lot of concepts with physics.

I am thinking about going back to school for ME because I want to eventually get into product designing (have not decided for what industry, but interested in environmental or consumer/ industrial goods).

If there are any professional engineers out there who can tell me what their tasks are as engineers in the work force, and maybe correct me if I am wrong about all the physics involved? ( I realize that the curriculum to obtain an eng degree will require a lot of physics, but I also believe that the work we do in academia is more theoretical and not as applicable to the real world or industry)

Thanks a lot for all your posts. I really have been struggling with this for a while, and I thought ME was finally the right field for me, but now I am not so sure...

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 16, 2012 #2
    Dude, you are probably already at least as smart as you need to be to get started.