Change in acceleration due to gravity

In summary, the conversation discusses the motion of an object falling to Earth from very far away and how to describe it with respect to time. The equation for gravitational field strength is given as g = G*m/r², where G is a constant and m is a constant for a given body. This equation shows how the acceleration changes when the object is moving. The conversation also suggests using numerical methods or studying energy conservation to understand the motion of the object in more detail.
shill
I'm a grade 11 student (I haven't formally learned calculus yet, but I've been dabbling with online tutorials) with a question (not for homework, just something I've been thinking about). For relatively small distances from Earth, we can estimate that the acceleration of a falling object will be constant (9.8 m/s²). However, that is obviously not the case once you start getting farther away. How can we describe the motion of an object falling to Earth from very far away? Does it have a constant jerk (change in acceleration), or does that also change?

This is related to a question I read on this forum (https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=99555).

Physics news on Phys.org
What is the equation for gravitational field stregth? (AKA acceleration due to gravity)

Hootenanny said:
What is the equation for gravitational field stregth? (AKA acceleration due to gravity)
D'oh!
g = G*m/r²
where G is a constant, and m is a constant for a given body (at least in classical physics). So acceleration is proportional to 1/r².

But wait... that still doesn't describe the object's motion with respect to time. If I have an object, (for example, with a mass of 1 kg, and a distance of 600 km), how can I figure out what the acceleration will be a second from then if I know the initial acceleration?

shill,
Your are right:

that still doesn't describe the object's motion with respect to time