Characters of Normal Subgroup of Index 2

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of notation and inner product in proving a result involving a normal subgroup N of a finite group H and a character Chi belonging to the irreducible characters of H. The speaker is trying to show that for a given conjugacy class K of H, the values of two characters Theta 1 and Theta 2, both belonging to the irreducible characters of N, are equal for each element in K. The conversation also mentions the use of Frobenius Reciprocity and the construction of an induced character to reach this result.
Ant farm
Hi There,

Ok, I'm new to this so I'm sorry if this is abit warbled!...

We have a normal subgroup N of a finite group H such that [H:N]=2
We have a chatacter Chi belonging to the irreducible characters of H, Irr(H) , which is zero on H\N.

I have already shown that Chi restricted to N = Theta 1 + Theta 2, Where
Theta 1 is not equal to Theta 2, and both Theta 1, and Theta 2 belong to Irr(N).

I am now trying to show that given a conjugacy class K of H which is also a conjugacy class of N, we get Theta 1 (n) = Theta 2 (n) for n a member of K.

Intuitively, I can see this is true, I have seen examples in the alternating group A6, the normal subgroup of index 2 in S6 fro example.

I would be really greatful for a push in the right direction...I have books: 'James and Liebeck' and 'Isaacs'... if you could even direct me to some relevant info?

Wow, think my notation is abit crap, sorry.

Physics news on Phys.org
It is traditional (though not necessarily ideal) to use ascii-tex to write maths in electronic form if you're not going to use the LaTeX capabilities of this site.

Thus [itex]\theta_1[/itex] is written as theta_1 (or \theta_1).

_ means subscript and ^ means superscript.

Right. I don't know if you're supposed to do it this way but here's my idea.

Consider Ind_N^H(theta_1).

Thanks for the notation tip, don't know how to use LaTeX so will try the other method.