1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Choosing physics over engineering

1. Nov 14, 2016 #1
    Hey guys, I hope everyone's doing ok. I'm currently a sophomore at an average university studying electrical engineering. However I have always liked physics more than engineering and now that I'm getting close to my junior, I have started to doubt my decision. The fear being failure if I choose physics as my career path is holding me back and I seriously need some guidance. I have thought about doing a double major but the course-overlap of these majors literally ends at calculus 2. And there are a ton of EE classes I still gotta take. Even if my advisers let me do a double major, by the way that my university has constructed the degree plans, It's gonna take me more than 1 extra year to finish both of these degrees. So to make this short, I really like to study physics and continuing all the way to Phd and end up doing research way more than working as an engineer. But I have concerns about the credibility of my university's physics degree, and I'm afraid I don't get into a good graduate program and end up being a HS teacher or something. Has anyone done a double major on this forum? If so please let me know, I need to figure this out soon because it's been crawling in my mind everyday. Sorry again, I know you've seen similar post like this one a million times.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 14, 2016 #2
    Follow your heart and work hard.

You can't lose.

4. Nov 14, 2016 #3
    Thank you for the words of encouragement. I have an advising appointment with the Physics department tomorrow morning, hopefully it will go well.

5. Nov 14, 2016 #4

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor