Choosing the research area in physics

In summary, people usually choose their area of research based on what they'reinterested in and what they think they're capable of understanding. However, choosing a research area can help in deciding a field for graduate school.
ShayanJ
Insights Author
Gold Member
I want to know how people usually choose their area of research?Is it just interest?What about choosing between areas which are all of your interest?
I know,it may seem weird for an undergrad to ask that,but I think its the time for me to decide on it.Because I started studying physics when I was in the middle of high school and now(that I'm an undergrad in physics)I'm in a place that I think I can almost understand some papers and so I think its time to specialize my studies on a particular subject because I now see if I don't do that,then I have an ocean of information to understand which seems terrifying.
I should say that I mean my self-studies because I also have my undergrad courses to deal with.But the choice of area also helps in choosing a proper field for my graduate school which is to come in the next year or maybe next two years.
About my own favorite areas of research, I can say that I like Quantum Gravity,alternatives to General Relativity,Quantum Computation,Measurement problem,Open Quantum Systems and Quantum Decoherence(and anything relating to foundations and philosophy of Quantum Mechanics),Quantum Field theory and Standard Model,Grand Unification Theories and Theories of Everything...wait...wow...I think its better to say I like Theoretical Physics!
So...any idea is appreciated...and yeah...maybe some of you are going to say just be a good boy and try to get good grades in your own courses...well...that's welcome too...but hard to get along with!
Thanks all

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org