1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Classes that can be effectively learned in a summer semester.

1. Jun 17, 2010 #1
    Long title, but basically a good summation of my question. I hate summer time, every year it's made me feel like a lousy losing loser with all this time on my hands and I never get anything done. So I'm taking 3 classes at a local community college (this is my very first semester of college ever, I just graduated HS). I really like it, although the 4 hour classes are a pain I feel like I'm getting ahead and I learn a lot because most of my time is spent doing something productive.

What I'm worried about, however, are the harder courses. Right now Calc. 1 isn't a problem (mostly because it was self-taught since I had Physics C last year), and so I'm getting ahead in a few other things (mostly calc. 2 stuff at the moment). I'm a physics major and at this moment looking to definitely go on to grad school so I want to make sure that I take classes that aren't terribly difficult to learn but also material that isn't terribly dense, since the summer is always a shorter semester (about half as long, sometimes less, than a normal semester).

So back to the main question, what sort of classes shall I be looking at to take during the summer? Definitely looking to finish up at least one LA elective credit, but would love to take some math classes and possibly physics. By next summer I would be in a position to take differential equations, but I believe that is a difficult subject from what I've researched and 2 months isn't enough time to 'let it sit'. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 17, 2010 #2