Colorful smoke from burning WHAT?

• Thread starter dudi
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Smoke
In summary, there are no known substances that will burn in mild temperatures (4 to 40 C) in the presence of oxygen and fire, creating colorful flames. While copper has been suggested, it is not confirmed. Most combustible materials will burn in these temperatures when surrounded by air, but it is unclear what the person is specifically asking about. Pyrophoric materials such as boranes can produce green flames when released into the atmosphere, but achieving colorful smoke is more difficult.
dudi
Sorry guys I am not an expert, but I wondered for my general use

What substances do you know will burn in mild tempratures (4 to 40 C, let's say) simply in the presence of oxygen and fire (spark or surrounding fire) creating prominent colorful fire - hence different from white, gray or black. I heard copper has this feature, but I am not positive about that. Can anyone please help?

Sorry for bad english...

Chemistry news on Phys.org
There are no substances I am aware of that will burn in these temperatures.

when the surrounding environment (air) is at these tempratures?

I am not sure what you are asking about. Most combustible things will burn when surrounded by the air at 0-40 deg C.

Do you want it just to burn in typical circumstances? Like a match, or a torch, or a campfire?

He is asking about pyrophoric materials. Boranes burn with a green flame. All you have to do is to release it into the atmosphere. If you want smoke instead of colored flames that is a different thing altogether.

Thank you guys for replying! now I know colorful smoke is hard to achieve in normal circumstances... and Chemistree got me all right

What causes colorful smoke when burning wood?