1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Completely black shadow cast through perfectly clear water.

1. Aug 7, 2016 #1

RonL

Gold Member

Today while filling a mortar tub with water for all the wildlife in my backyard and surrounding area, I noticed that vortex swirls produced a completely black circle shadow, surrounded by a white sunlight ring, the ring was very bright and the reflection on the bottom of the tub (black) was very distinct, it would move around until the water vortex would disappear into water with less motion.
    I'm not good with search queries, the link below is the best I could find. Only a few times would the water in my tub form a funnel, but almost always the shadow would form a near perfect circle.
    I wonder if anyone has studied this type of light refraction ?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencet...rlpools-thought-work-way-space-phenomena.html

Thanks for any input :smile:

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 7, 2016 #2

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

The vortex bends the surface of the water above it into a convex lens. The refraction of light through this lens bends the light away from the middle of the vortex and towards a point off from the center. Because this "lens" is more strongly cured towards the center of the vortex, light passing near the center is more strongly refracted than the light passing nearer to the edge and the end result is a ring of light on the bottom of the tub surrounding a darker patch at the center.

4. Aug 7, 2016 #3

RonL

Gold Member