1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Condensed matter physicist advice ?

1. Nov 18, 2008 #1
    Although I'm not going into physics for a love of money/easy money, I still want a decent amount to live comfortably. 80-90k+ is alright with me, and condensed matter is pretty interesting, practical, and very helpful.

I'm curious as to how much they earn on average/median in a year. Does a successful one require a Ph.D? If not, how does job availability and income jump with a Ph.D in hand? I will at least get a Masters.

A job description in your own words too would be nice. I searched around so far, and they seem a bit like engineers to me (sorry if they're not, I'm still new to it).

Any advice you can give would be appreciated :)
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 18, 2008 #2

Dr Transport

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Condensed matter physics is a broad field, too broad to list right here. What specifically interests you in condensed matter, semiconductors, magnetic materials, opto-electronic phenomenon etc......
  4. Nov 18, 2008 #3
    As I said, I'm quite new to the field, but developing/creating useful materials with physical principles for the world to use interests me. I guess (off of Wikipedia, yeah my knowledge of CM is pretty limited) magnetic materials, nanotechnology, and soft condensed matter are right down my alley.
  5. Nov 19, 2008 #4
    The materials industry is huge. If you got knowledge how to build a material after specs, you will at least have a job. And money will come to you (like in the range you specified) if you work at it.
  6. Nov 19, 2008 #5
    Thanks for that guys, but I need a bit more depth...