1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Confused: What to do after Master's?

1. Oct 27, 2012 #1
    Confused: What to do after Master's??

Hello Everyone.
    I am currently enrolled as a Master's student with bachelor's in mechanical engineering. I am now in my final year. But i have remained confused over what to do after my master's. I am confused between taking up a job, entrepreneurship(i am sound at building hobby robots) or a PhD.
    I thought i'd write down these(& probably more) alternatives with all the constraints each one has and where will I land if I choose a particular one.
    But can anyone just outline which of the options would be worth in a long run?? Or at least where each of the alternative would probably lead me?
    Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 29, 2012 #2
    Re: Confused: What to do after Master's??

I would put off the entrepreneurship route until you have worked for someone else a while. There is a lot you will learn that isn't taught in school and it will help you if you know that side of things before you take a shot at it yourself.

4. Oct 29, 2012 #3

I can give you my totally biased and limited perspective. Take it for what it is worth.

1. There are lots of cool jobs in Mechanical Engineering. This is a really broad field with lots of opportunities. I am biased, because this is what I do, and I like it.
    2. Entrepreneurship is really satisfying for some people, and can have really big rewards. However, this is accompanied by really big risks too. You need to look at your stomach for failure and rejection before you try this. There is a reason people take jobs with salaries.