Constructing a Tri-Axial Square Helmholz Coil

In summary, this student is trying to build a tri-axial square helmholtz coil setup. He has been researching for days and is having trouble figuring out the correct dimensions, turns, necessary wire thickness, and current. He has been using the Biot-Savart law to calculate the magnetic fields of the coils. He found that the B-field (in Gauss) produced at the midway point between a pair of square coils is (.001629)*I*N/L where I is the current, N is the number of turns, and L is the length of a side of a coil. He needs at least 14 gauge copper wire for this setup.
rushingwind

Homework Statement

I'm a summer REU student tasked with building a tri-axial square helmholtz coil setup. My frame will be made of aluminum while the wire used will be copper. I've been researching for days, having actually never studied these coils before, and I'm having serious trouble figuring out the correct dimensions, turns, necessary wire thickness, and current.

The center of the field will contain a MOT. I'm looking to cancel out slightly more than 1 gauss. Presently, I don't quite understand how to apply Gauss's Law (or if I'm doing it correctly/incorrectly), as I've only taken Introductory Physics (I have, however, taken Calculus, but not Calc II).

The Attempt at a Solution

So far, this is the setup I've been able to come up with: (I've edited this after finally being able to see my workspace). I'm very limited in space, so the sides of each square set must be 18in (about .46m), 16in (about .41m), and 14in (about .36m). That brings my calculations for spacing between pairs to .25m, .2m, and .19m, respectively.

Running 2A of current through each coil (can't go below 1A, or above 5A), these are the number of turns I calculated:

18in/.46m -- 15 turns
16in/.41m -- 13 turns
14in/.36m -- 12 turns