1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Constructing a Tri-Axial Square Helmholz Coil

1. Jun 25, 2012 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I'm a summer REU student tasked with building a tri-axial square helmholtz coil setup. My frame will be made of aluminum while the wire used will be copper. I've been researching for days, having actually never studied these coils before, and I'm having serious trouble figuring out the correct dimensions, turns, necessary wire thickness, and current.

The center of the field will contain a MOT. I'm looking to cancel out slightly more than 1 gauss. Presently, I don't quite understand how to apply Gauss's Law (or if I'm doing it correctly/incorrectly), as I've only taken Introductory Physics (I have, however, taken Calculus, but not Calc II).

3. The attempt at a solution

So far, this is the setup I've been able to come up with: (I've edited this after finally being able to see my workspace). I'm very limited in space, so the sides of each square set must be 18in (about .46m), 16in (about .41m), and 14in (about .36m). That brings my calculations for spacing between pairs to .25m, .2m, and .19m, respectively.

Running 2A of current through each coil (can't go below 1A, or above 5A), these are the number of turns I calculated:

18in/.46m -- 15 turns
    16in/.41m -- 13 turns
    14in/.36m -- 12 turns

I need to cancel out slightly more than 1 gauss at the center of this tri-axial configuration, and my math shows me that it does.... If I'm doing this right. I've also calculated that I need at least 14 gauge copper wire for this setup.