1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Current and prospective job market for EE

1. May 17, 2012 #1
    I graduated from university in the liberal arts a few years ago, and oddly enough fell in LOVE with electricity and everything about it since. Whether it's in the application of designing computer chips and circuits, to power stations and energy systems, I have made the decision to go back to school for an accelerated "technologist" program in Canada this coming september to pursue this newfound interest.

What I'd like to know (from personal experiences)

- What kind of jobs can i expect as an electrical engineering technologist (I'm willing to relocate anywhere in Canada/USA)

- Should I go back and get my B.Eng (option to do so with an additional 2 years of studying)

- Will my age work against me (I have 5 years of work experience, but by the time i graudate from the technologist program i will be 26 and likely looking for entry level work)

- I am particularly interested in developing and maintaining power systems, is that a good area of study to specialize in?

I have done a lot of research on my end, but I haven't posted this here yet so I'd really appreciate any feedback (especially personal experiences!)

2. jcsd
  3. May 17, 2012 #2

FOIWATER

Gold Member

I am a graduate engineering technologist from canada, I have found work in the mining industry in labrador, the pay is very rewarding, the work is good (dirty) working as an industrial electrician on mobile equipment.

I have received a leave of absence to return to university for two years to complete by bachelors degree in EE, there is definitely a job market for it, like yourself I am interested in power systems and power delivery.