1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Current Mathematics Major; Extra Year for Physics?

1. Jun 13, 2012 #1
    This might a lot to digest, but I would be forever appreciative if someone with knowledge could offer any advice pertaining to my future plans:

Currently I'm majoring in Mathematics in state university. I'm have two more semesters worth of college and am due to graduate May 13. Last year I took Physics I & II (requirement, I didn't take Calc-based ones because I got stuck b/c the Calc version was filled :yuck:) and discovered I wanted to learn so much more about it. I decided immediately to declare a minor, and they said I should not have a problem with the non-Calc physics to swap for the Calc if I wanted to pursue it. Well now, I really want to major in it. Would this be worth it?

With that being said, my Math degree is pretty much finished (Have a 2.98, hopefully will end with 3 in major), just need Topology & Diff Eq. and I would need to take 3 Physics classes for the next four semesters.

And... further more I ultimately want to go to graduate school for math or physics, and how would double-majoring affect this?

Thanks,
    Billy

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 13, 2012 #2
    If you can afford an extra year it's worth it just to pull that GPA out of 2. land. Still, physics probably isn't what you would want to take to do that.

4. Jun 13, 2012 #3
    If the ultimate goal is to go to graduate school, you should try your best to fix two red flags I see. You GPA is poor and you seem very undecided. You haven't study any physics, yet you are considering it for grad school.